Indicator report
Environment
| 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | |||
| Energy consumption | |||||
| Road fuel usage (litres) | 16 637 246* | ▲ | 16 114 297 | 19 186 337 | |
| Electricity purchased (megawatt hours) | 70 108* | ▼ | 73 317 | 75 713 | |
| Emissions1 | |||||
| Scope 1 emissions (tCO2e)2 | 47 237* | ▲ | 46 225 | 49 959 | |
| Scope 2 emissions (tCO2e) | 64 604* | ▼ | 71 757 | 71 435 | |
| Scope 3 emissions (tCO2e) | 499 | ▲ | 105 | 1 625 | |
| Total emissions (tCO2e) | 112 340* | ▼ | 118 087 | 123 019 | |
| Carbon intensity ratio (tCO2e/Rbn) | 1,22 | ▼ | 1,35 | 1,68 | |
| Water | |||||
| Water purchased from municipalities (kilolitres) | 609 191* | ▲ | 570 089 | 603 509 | |
| Water intensity ratio (kilolitres/Rbn) | 6,62 | ▲ | 6,54 | 8,22 | |
| Waste | |||||
| Batteries returned to supplier (kilograms)3 | 133 453 | – | – | ||
| Batteries recycled (kilograms)3 | 99 176 | – | – | ||
| Oil recycled (litres) | 2 429 770 | ▲ | 2 209 502 | 1 952 693 | |
| Paper purchased (kilograms)3 | 410 491 | – | – | ||
| Paper recycled (kilograms)3 | 1 037 421 | – | – | ||
| Tyres recycled (tonnes)3 | 63 016 | – | – | ||
| Spills | |||||
| Environmental incidents | 0 | ■ | 0 | 0 | |
| Environmeental compliance | |||||
| Fines or penalties for environmental incidents | 0 | ■ | 0 | 0 |
Methodology used: the Greenhouse Gas Protocol - a Corporate Accounting and Reporting Standard (Revised Edition). The boundary used is operational control.
| ¹ | 2020 and 2021 restated due to a change in carbon emission factors applied to better reflect the South African environment. |
| ² | Tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent. |
| ³ | Reported for the first time. |
Definitions
Scope 1: all direct emissions from the activities of Motus or under our control, including fuel combustion and on-site oil (fleet vehicles, air-conditioning or generators).
Scope 2: indirect emissions from the electricity Motus purchases and uses.
Scope 3: all other indirect emissions from activities that Motus does not own or control; includes emissions from business travel.
■ Satisfied with performance. ■ Area for improvement. * Assured (see the independent limited assurance report).
Social
Employee metrics
| 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | |||
| Number of employees (Group) | |||||
| South Africa | 13 158 | 12 697 | 13 743 | ||
| United Kingdom | 3 114 | 3 033 | 3 209 | ||
| Australia | 534 | 523 | 547 | ||
| Africa | 410 | 389 | – | ||
| Asia | 67 | 66 | – | ||
| Total number of employees | 17 283 | 16 708 | 17 499 | ||
| Number of non-permanent employees in South Africa | 548 | 561 | 416 | ||
| Female representation (Group) | |||||
| Overall (% ) | 32 | ▲ | 31 | 30 | |
| Top management (% ) | 33 | ▲ | 27 | 30 | |
| Senior management (% ) | 26 | ▲ | 25 | 18 | |
| Middle management (% ) | 28 | ■ | 28 | – | |
| Junior management (% ) | 24 | ■ | 24 | – | |
| Employee representation (South Africa) | |||||
| Percentage of employees covered by collective bargaining agreements | 59 | 60 | 55 | ||
| Leadership development (South Africa) | |||||
| Number of participants in the Future Leaders Programme¹ | 20 | ▲ | 15 | Deferred² | |
| – Percentage who are black (% ) | 55 | ▼ | 60 | – | |
| – Percentage who are women (% ) | 40 | ▲ | 13 | – | |
| Number of participants in the Women in Leadership Programme | 16 | ▼ | 18 | Deferred² | |
| – Percentage who are black (% ) | 81 | ▲ | 50 | – | |
| Total number of participants enrolled in a managerial programme | 343 | ▲ | 274 | 211 | |
| – Percentage who are black (% ) | 71 | ▲ | 65 | 70 | |
| – Percentage who are women (% ) | 42 | ▲ | 38 | 25 | |
| Training spend | |||||
| South Africa (Rm) | 166,3* | ▲ | 143,9 | 176,6 | |
| United Kingdom (Rm) | 122,3 | ▼ | 123,0 | Not reported | |
| Australia (Rm) | 1,4 | ▼ | 4,0 | Not reported | |
| Training statistics (South Africa) | |||||
| Training and development spend per employee (R) | 12 639 | ▲ | 11 333 | 12 850 | |
| Number of training hours | 1 424 279* | ▲ | 1 263 805 | 864 014 | |
| Training hours per employee | 108 | ▲ | 99 | 63 |
| ¹ | Previously called the Executive Leadership Programme. |
| ² | Deferred due to COVID-19. Resumed in January 2021. |
■ Satisfied with performance. ■ Area for improvement.
Occupational health and safety
| 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | |||
| OHS compliance | |||||
| South Africa number of sites | 446 | 419 | 459 | ||
| – Percentage of sites audited (% ) | 97 | ▼ | 99 | 88 | |
| – Average score | 93 | ▲ | 92 | 92 | |
| United Kingdom number of sites | 79 | 79 | 73 | ||
| – Percentage of sites audited (% ) | 63 | ▼ | 87 | 100 | |
| – Average score | 94 | ▲ | 91 | 93 | |
| Australia number of sites1 | 17 | 23 | 30 | ||
| – Percentage of sites audited (% ) | 94 | ▼ | 100 | 100 | |
| Rest of Africa number of sites | 5 | 5 | 5 | ||
| – Percentage of sites audited (% ) | 100 | ■ | 100 | 100 | |
| – Average score | 93 | ■ | 93 | 70 | |
| Total number of business sites | 547 | 526 | 567 | ||
| Road (Group)² | |||||
| Road kilometres travelled (million) | 174* | 171 | 209 | ||
| Road accidents (includes any fatalities) | 41* | ▼ | 45 | 21 | |
| Road accidents per million kilometres | 0,236* | ▼ | 0,263 | 0,100 | |
| Road injuries | 43 | ▼ | 44 | 20 | |
| Road injuries per million kilometres | 0,247 | ▼ | 0,257 | 0,096 | |
| Road fatalities | 7 | ▲ | 5 | 1 | |
| Road fatalities per million kilometres | 0,040 | ▲ | 0,029 | 0,005 | |
| On-site (Group)² | |||||
| On-site incidents | 290 | ▲ | 194 | 184 | |
| On-site accidents (includes any fatalities) | 274 | ▲ | 199 | 216 | |
| On-site fatalities | 0 | ■ | 0 | 1 | |
| On-site accidents (Group)² | |||||
| South Africa | 21 | ▼ | 26 | 15 | |
| United Kingdom³ | 242 | ▲ | 161 | 193 | |
| Australia | 11 | ▼ | 12 | 8 | |
| Total on-site injuries | 274 | ▲ | 199 | 216 |
| ¹ | Australia's OHS framework scores a site as either compliant or non-compliant. |
| ² | OHS metrics include employees and third parties. |
| ³ | The nature of most injuries are fractured fingers or cuts. The UK reports a higher number of on-site injuries as a result of far more stringent regulatory reporting requirements. |
Definitions
Incident: is an unsafe occurrence where damage to property is incurred but there were no fatal or occupational injuries.
Accident: is an occurrence which results in a fatality or an occupational injury to either employees or third parties.
Injury: is any personal injury or disease resulting from an occupational accident to either employees or third parties.
■ Satisfied with performance. ■ Area for improvement. *Assured (see the independent limited assurance report).
Motus board composition (Group)
| 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | |||
| Black women | 2 | 2 | 2 | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Black men | 3 | 3 | 3 | ||
| White women | 1 | 1 | 1 | ||
| White men | 4 | 4 | 3 |
Employment equity (South Africa)
| Men (number) |
Women (number) |
Foreign nationals (number) | Black representation (% ) |
|||||||
| Occupational levels | Black | White | Black | White | 2022 actual |
2022 target |
2021 actual |
|||
| Top management | 3 | 5 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 50 | 45 | 36 | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Senior management | 26 | 37 | 30 | 10 | 2 | 53 | 55 | 53 | ||
| Middle management | 631 | 646 | 266 | 252 | 17 | 50 | 51 | 47 | ||
| Junior management | 2 715 | 972 | 805 | 403 | 53 | 71 | 68 | 68 | ||
| Semi-skilled | 2 100 | 219 | 1 558 | 597 | 36 | 81 | 80 | 80 | ||
| Unskilled | 876 | 24 | 316 | 2 | 5 | 97 | 97 | 96 | ||
| Non-permanent | 271 | 27 | 216 | 15 | 19 | 89 | 89 | 89 | ||
| Total employees | 6 622 | 1 930 | 3 194 | 1 280 | 132 | 75 | 74 | 73 | ||
| Employees living with disabilities | 60 | 32 | 66 | 43 | 1 | 62 | 65 | |||
Other B-BBEE related metrics (South Africa)
| 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | |||
| Inclusive procurement | |||||
| Spend with >51% black-owned businesses (Rbn) | 2,9 | ▲ | 2,3 | 1,3 | |
| Spend with 30% black women-owned businesses (Rm) | 1 784 | ▲ | 1 000 | 498 | |
| Spent with EMEs and QSEs (Rbn) | 2,1 | ▲ | 2,0 | 1,3 | |
| Enterprise development | |||||
| Qualifying enterprise development spend on the | 82 | ▲ | 54 | 26 | |
| B-BBEE scorecard (Rm) | |||||
| Total enterprise development spend (Rm)¹ | 121 | ▲ | 76 | 30 | |
| Socio-economic development | |||||
| Qualifying socio-economic development spend on the B-BBEE scorecard (Rm) | 28,1 | ▲ | 17,5 | 14,3 |
¹ Includes qualifying enterprise development spend.
■ Satisfied with performance. ■ Area for improvement.
Corporate social investment
| 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | |||
| CSI spend | |||||
| – Education and youth development (Rm) | 15,3 | ▲ | 13,6 | 6,4 | |
| – Road safety (Rm) | 1,6 | ▲ | 1,3 | 1,2 | |
| – Health (Rm) | 1,5 | ▲ | 1,3 | – | |
| – Business specific initiatives (Rm) | 5,6 | ▲ | 2,4 | 20,5 | |
| – Gift of the Givers (Rm) | 6,0 | – | – | ||
| Total Group CSI spend (Rm)¹ | 30,0* | ▲ | 18,6 | 28,1 | |
| Motus Technical Academy | |||||
| Breakdown of total motor artisans trained | 1 633 | ▼ | 1 839 | 1 435 | |
| – Trained for Motus | 406 | ▼ | 462 | 404 | |
| – Trained for the broader industry | 1 227 | ▼ | 1 377 | 1 031 | |
| Motor artisans supported by Motus² | |||||
| – Number of apprentices | 614 | ▼ | 878 | 795 | |
| – Percentage of apprentices that are black (% ) | 86 | ▲ | 80 | 86 | |
| – Number of apprentices that qualified as technicians | 376 | ▲ | 373 | 290 | |
| Imperial and Motus Community Trust | |||||
| Spend this year (Rm)³ | 14,0 | ▲ | 11,7 | 5,6 | |
| Number of libraries (cumulative since 2003) | 63 | ▲ | 52 | 45 | |
| Learners reached | >72 000 | ▲ | > 61 300 | > 50 250 | |
| Teachers reached | >2 070 | ▲ | > 1 600 | > 1 400 | |
| Jobs created at 30 June | 65 | ■ | 65 | 69 | |
| Road safety programme | |||||
| Spend this year (Rm) | 1,5 | ▲ | 1,3 | 1,2 | |
| Schools reached (cumulative since 2011) | >2 300 | ▲ | > 2 080 | > 1 820 | |
| Learners reached (cumulative since 2011) | >1,96 million | ▲ | > 1,75 million | > 1,69 million | |
| Unjani Clinics | |||||
| Direct investment this year (Rm) | 1,4 | ▲ | 1,3 | – | |
| Consultations (cumulative since 2010) | >2,9 million | ▲ | > 2,0 million | – | |
| Jobs created at 30 June | 475 | ▲ | 346 | – |
| ¹ | Includes the qualifying socio-economic development spend reported in the B-BBEE scorecard. |
| ² | These apprentices are supported by Motus meaning that they are paid from our payroll but do not necessarily work in our operations. |
| ³ | Includes operating costs and specific projects relating to the libraries, Grade R classroom upgrades and special events. Individual business contributions are also included. |
■ Satisfied with performance. ■ Area for improvement. * Assured (see the independent limited assurance report).
Highway Patrol Programme (N1/N4 toll routes in South Africa)
| Easter 2022 |
Dec/Jan 2021/22 |
Easter 2021 |
Dec/Jan 2020/21 |
||||
| Distance travelled | 37 817 | 76 783 | 54 142 | 59 876 | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Motor incidences | 59 | 120 | 48 | 52 | |||
| Motorists assisted | 63 | 162 | 70 | 154 | |||
| Vehicles inspected | 2 265 | 2 741 | 8 033 | 4 382 | |||
| Warrants /arrests | 157 | 687 | 2 | – | |||
| Fatalities | 7 | 23 | 9 | 6 |
Governance
| 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | |||
| Whistle-blowing hotline (Group) | |||||
| Tip-off categories | |||||
| – Fraud | 7 | 11 | 11 | ||
| – Governance | 6 | 1 | 8 | ||
| – Human resources¹ | 48 | 51 | 73 | ||
| – Enquiry | 3 | 0 | 5 | ||
| – Other crime | 1 | 1 | 1 | ||
| – Corruption | 2 | 1 | 4 | ||
| – Theft | 0 | 3 | 3 | ||
| – Procurement irregularities | 0 | 2 | 0 | ||
| – Occupational health | 0 | 5 | 0 | ||
| – Pollution and environment | 2 | 0 | 0 | ||
| Total number of tip-offs registered | 69 | 75 | 105 |
¹ Includes incidents of alleged discrimination and racism.
Value-added statement
| 2022 | 2021 | |||||
| for the year ended 30 June 2022 | Notes | Rm | % | Rm | % | |
| Revenue | 91 978 | 87 205 | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paid to suppliers for materials and services | (77 886) | (75 297) | ||||
| Total wealth created | 14 092 | 11 908 | ||||
| Wealth distribution | ||||||
| Salaries, wages and other benefits | 1 | 7 227 | 51 | 6 547 | 55 | |
| Providers of capital | 2 811 | 20 | 1 340 | 11 | ||
| – Net finance costs | 496 | 3 | 543 | 5 | ||
| – Dividends paid to equity holders of Motus | 928 | 7 | 294 | 2 | ||
| – Dividends paid to non-controlling interest | 36 | – | 18 | – | ||
| – Share repurchases and cancellations | 1 351 | 10 | 485 | 4 | ||
| Central and local government | 2 | 1 502 | 11 | 796 | 7 | |
| Reinvested in the Group to maintain and develop operations | 2 552 | 18 | 3 225 | 27 | ||
| – Depreciation, amortisation, impairment and recoupments | 1 886 | 1 526 | ||||
| – Future expansion (including vehicles for hire) | 666 | 1 699 | ||||
| 14 092 | 100 | 11 908 | 100 | |||
| Value-added ratios | ||||||
| Number of employees | 17 283 | 16 708 | ||||
| Revenue per employee (R'000) | 5 322 | 5 219 | ||||
| Wealth created per employee (R'000) | 815 | 713 | ||||
| Notes | |||||||
| 1. | Salaries, wages and other benefits | ||||||
| Salaries, wages, overtime, commissions, bonuses and allowances | 6 778 | 6 112 | |||||
| Employer contributions | 529 | 494 | |||||
| Less: Unemployment Insurance Fund and Skills Development Levy (included in note 2) | (80) | (59) | |||||
| 7 227 | 6 547 | ||||||
| 2. | Central and local government | ||||||
| Income tax expense | 1 242 | 588 | |||||
| Withholding and secondary tax on companies | 4 | 3 | |||||
| Rates and taxes | 176 | 146 | |||||
| Skills Development Levy | 50 | 38 | |||||
| Unemployment Insurance Fund | 30 | 21 | |||||
| 1 502 | 796 | ||||||



